June 15, 1776   

     Father left today. Philadelphia, the heart of the colonies, is abuzz with political fervor. The most influential men of North America have left their homes in search of answers to this quandary Parliament has confined us to. I have been reading Thomas Paine greatly since his publication. “A long habit of not thinking a thing wrong, gives it a superficial appearance of being right, and raises at first a formidable outcry in defense of custom. But the tumult soon subsides. Time makes more converts than reason.” Years of subordination and mute submission have rendered these colonies meek and deferential to the Crown of a distant realm. Is it the divine and natural order of the world for us to be divided into such archaic conventions as Lords and Subjects?   His Common Sense, as it is so fittingly named, has created such a turmoil in me I have no way to quell it.

     Father has set off for Pennsylvania with intentions to denounce the dissentious cries of the colonies. For all the good work my father does here in New York, he is still an obstinate and unequivocal Tory. When I speak to him it is as if my very words are lost to the wind; he will hear nothing of reason let alone independence.

     With nothing but frustration to have from my family and our irresolute colonies, I can still find absolute reassurance in my own future. I will be off to King’s College soon enough, and with the erudition of my studies, I will begin work on my true desire; law. My family has always been one of tradesmen and merchants, not one of men of letters. I know my ambitions are silently deplored by my family. My father especially views the pursuit of justice as one of no consequence. He is a man of numbers, profit, and cares little for the “ trivial crimes and punishments that perforate His Majesty’s dependency”.

    I must sleep now, it must be now or I will never quiet my mind. But I will be hard at work at Sun’s rise. Mayhaps one day men like my father will see the truth. People were never meant to be subjugated, and no King or Parliament shall supersede those freedoms of which we are ordained at birth. Mayhaps one day we can be free.

Leave a Reply

